All the mayors of BCS are seeking re-election; also 15 deputies

According to the records of intention presented to the General Council of the IEE, 19 councilors and two trustees also want to remain in office.

La Paz, Baja California Sur.- The document that was delivered to the State Electoral Institute (IEE) in Baja California Sur, with a total of 42 notices of intention from current officials for the continuous election, that is, the legal possibility for a citizen who has held a popularly elected position to occupy it again at the end of his term, which will be applied for the first time in the elections of June 2, 2024.

In the count of the electoral body, from November 7 to 24, the registration for the re-election of the mayor of Los Cabos, Oscar Leggs, the mayor of La Paz, Milena Quiroga, of Comondú, Iliana Talamantes, of Loreto Paola Cota is recorded and from Mulegé, Edith Aguilar Villavicencio.

Likewise, a total of 15 of the 21 deputies of the XVI Legislature, both proportional representation and relative majority, presented their intention for continued election before the General Council.

From the National Regeneration Movement Party (Morena), they are: María Luisa Trejo Piñuelas, Teresita de Jesús Valentín, María Guadalupe Moreno Higuera, Guadalupe Vázquez Jacinto, Eduardo Valentín Van Wormer Castro, Juan Pérez Cayetano, From the faction of the Labor Party (PT) , Representative Gabriela Montoya Terrazas, Fernando Hoyos and Luis Armando Díaz want to repeat their position; while deputies María Luisa Ojeda González and Lorena Marbella González Díaz, from the PRD and Fuerza por México, respectively, also registered their intention, as did PRI deputy Paz del Alma Ochoa Amador.

The same is in the case of the three deputies of the National Action Party (PAN), Blanca Belia Márquez, Armando Martínez and Rigoberto Mares.

In the case of the councilors of La Paz, Councilor Lugarda Guadalupe León Lucero, Homero Montaño and Nestor Alejandro Araiza were registered; for Los Cabos, Sarahí Ramos Murillo; José Catarino Cota, Cristobal Omar Orbe, Rogelio Tornero, Irene Galindo, Lince Rodríguez, Guillermina Díaz and the municipal Trustee, Alondra Torres.

For Comondú, councilors Rosendo Ozuna, María Concepción Magaña, Lourdes Vázquez and Raúl Madrid are seeking re-election; by Loreto, Delfina Rivas, Iván Bautista, Anaí Romero and the trustee Rigoberto Gómez; for Mulegé, only the councilor Yahaira Lizbeth Contreras. A substitute for a deputation and a councilor were also registered.

It should be noted that at the national level, the National Regeneration Movement (MORENA) alone registered almost 100 thousand people seeking to obtain a candidacy for the party.

In total, 98,167 candidates registered, seeking local, federal, senatorial, mayoral, municipal presidency, among other positions.

Source: El Independiente