Right-wing former Spanish and Latin American presidents against judicial reform in Mexico


The Democratic Initiative of Spain and the Americas (IDEA) foundation, which is based in Florida, United States, and was created nine years ago to support conservative ideas in the centers of power, promoted a declaration against the judicial reform in the making in Mexico.

The statement, openly against the theses of the current Mexican government, headed by Andrés Manuel López Obrador, was supported by former politicians such as former presidents Vicente Fox, Felipe Calderón, José María Aznar, Mariano Rajoy, Lenin Moreno, Mauricio Macri and Andrés Pastrana, among others.

The former presidents point out in the declaration: “We strongly reject any attempt to modify the judicial system that could weaken the independence and autonomy of the judges, magistrates and ministers of the Mexican Judiciary, including the Electoral Tribunal; like the proposal of the official party Morena, which seeks to implement popular elections for the selection of these positions, making them dependent on political influences, compromising the impartiality of their ministries and making them prey to a Justice of opinion.”

The declaration also advocates promoting an “open and constructive dialogue between all political and social actors in Mexico, so that they address any need for judicial reform, always ensuring unrestricted respect for democratic principles as well as the essential elements and fundamental components of democracy contained, whether in the American Convention on Human Rights, or in the Inter-American Democratic Charter as an authentic interpretation of this,” warning that “a reform that implies the weakening and dismantling of the Judicial Branch represents a serious attack on democracy and the validity of a constitutional order.”

The declaration is signed by former presidents Mario Abdom, Juan Carlos Wasmosy and Federico Franco, of Paraguay; Óscar Arias, Miguel Ángel Rodríguez and Rafael Ángel Calderón, of Costa Rica; José María Aznar and Mariano Rajoy from Spain; Felipe Calderón and Vicente Fox from Mexico; Alfredo Cristiani from El Salvador; Iván Duque and Andrés Pastrana from Colombia; Eduardo Frei Ruiz-Tagle from Chile; Osvaldo Hurtado, Guillermo Lasso, Jamil Mahuad and Lenín Moreno from Ecuador; Mauricio Macri from Argentina; Carlos Mesa and Jorge Tuto Quiroga from Bolivia; Mireya Moscoso and Ernesto Pérez Balladares from Panama.

Source: jornada